Buy Online The Beat - Public Confidential CD + Bounce CD (Signed)

The Beat

Public Confidential CD + Bounce CD (Signed)


Release Date: 25/01/2019

This multi buy includes:

  • Bounce CD Album (Signed)
  • Public Confidential CD Album
Public Confidential CD Album

Hot on the heels of their acclaimed 2016 album BOUNCE, The Beat featuring Ranking Roger release brand new album PUBLIC CONFIDENTIAL on Jan 25 2019 on DMF Records. Expected to delight 2-Tone fans, who endured a 30-year gap before BOUNCE between albums, PUBLIC CONFIDENTAL continues to showcase the band at their joyful skanking best with 10 brand new songs. Produced by Mick Lister and Ranking Roger, PUBLIC CONFIDENTIAL will be available digitally and on CD, Black Heavyweight Vinyl, Blue Transparent Vinyl and Black/White Half & Half Vinyl with signed copies available to pre-order now.

The band is very much as before but this time even more of a family affair with Roger’s daughter Saffren providing vocals as well as Beat stalwart and crowd pleaser Ranking Junior on toasting duties. Completing the line-up are Fuzz Townshend (drums), Chiko Hamilton (Sax), Andy Pearson (Bass), Andy Perriss (Gtr) and Bobby Bird (Gtr). The first single to be released from PUBLIC CONFIDENTIAL is MANIAC - a catchy, bass-led reggae ska tune pointing the finger at the mess of current politics.

1. Maniac
2. Public Confidential
3. Who's Dat Looking
4. On the Road
5. Dangerous
6. Long Call Short Talk
7. Giving It Up
8. A Good Day for Sunshine
9. Skank Away
10. Civilisation

Bounce CD Album (Signed)

One of the biggest bands of the 2-Tone movement, The Beat are known the world over for a string of hit singles in the 80’s including "Mirror in the Bathroom", "Too Nice To Talk To", "Can't Get Used To Losing You", "Hands off She's Mine" and "Best Friend". Fronted by vocalist Ranking Roger, the 2016 band also features Roger's son, Matthew Murphy aka 'Ranking Junior' on vocals with Fuzz Townshend on drums, Andy Pearson and Steve Harper on guitars. They are a band at the top of their game with a dynamic and relentlessly energetic live show and now their loyal fans are finally being treated to a brand new studio album with the first single “Walking on the Wrong Side” out this Summer. Their fourth and new studio album “Bounce” - the first in over 30 years – will be released in September this year. The new album has been written by Ranking Roger and Mick Lister. It has been Produced by Mick Lister (Bad Company, Amy Winehouse, Nina Jayne) and mixed by Tim Hamill, Mick Lister & Dennis Bovell. The album was mastered at Abbey Road Studios and will be released by independent label DMF Records. The Beat formed in Birmingham in 1978, part of the West Midlands ska revival scene that also produced The Specials and The Selecter, whilst London saw the formation of Madness and The Bodysnatchers. Their first single was an arresting version of Smokey Robinson’s “Tears Of A Clown” Released in a one-off deal on Jerry Dammers’ Chrysalis-backed 2-Tone label, the single stormed into the Top 10 in December 1979, and saw the band appear twice on Top Of The Pops. Backed by Arista, the band formed their own label Go-Feet Records. The first release in February 1980 was another Top 10 hit, “Hands Off... She’s Mine”, and was the first of twelve chart singles for the band on Go-Feet.

1. Walking on the Wrong Side
2. Busy Busy Doing Nothing
3. Heaven Hiding
4. Avoid the Obvious
5. Fire Burn
6. On My Way
7. Work Work Work
8. Talkin' About Her
9. Side to Side
10. My Dream
11. Close The Door